AWARDS, APPOINTMENTS, ACCOLADES



Dr. Philip Baer CRA Master Award

Dr. Philip Baer received a CRA Master Award at the 2023 Canadian Rheumatology Association (CRA) Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM). This is a lifetime achievement award bestowed upon members aged 65 and older who have made outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology. Dr. Baer is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the CRA, Vice-President of the Board of the Journal of Rheumatology, Past-President of the Ontario Rheumatology Association, and a former Chair of the Section on Rheumatology of the Ontario Medical Association. He has been the showrunner for RheumJeopardy at the CRA ASM since 2016. For over 35 years, Dr. Baer has practiced as a community rheumatologist in Scarborough, a diverse multicultural community with a high burden of rheumatic diseases.



Dr. Heather McDonald-Blumer Lindy Fraser Award

Through the Lindy Fraser Award, Osteoporosis Canada recognizes one individual annually, who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of osteoporosis research and/or education in Canada. The 2022 recipient is Dr. Heather McDonald-Blumer. Heather is known for her clinical expertise in the field of osteoporosis and as a highly recognized teacher and educator in the field. She has served on the Osteoporosis Canada Executive and has been Chair of the Guidelines Committee for the past 6 years, including chairing the Conflict-of-Interest Oversight Committee during the current guideline development process. Heather's contributions have had meaningful and significant impact nationally for Osteoporosis Canada and the osteoporosis community in Canada.



Dr. Jane Purvis Appointed Co-Chair of the Ontario Medical Association Physician Services Committee (PSC)

Dr. Jane Purvis was appointed the Ontario Medical Association's Co-Chair on the Physician Services Committee (PSC) in December 2022. The Physician Services Committee (PSC) provides a broad and structured process for regular liaison and communication between the Ministry of Health and the OMA, both to implement the 2021 Physician Services Agreement and also to consult on broad health-system transformation and policy initiatives involving Ontario physicians.

Dr. Purvis is a Past President of the Ontario Rheumatology Association (ORA) and is the ORA Government Affairs Committee lead.



Dr. Alan Rosenberg Distinguished Professor Award

Dr. Alan Rosenberg has been designated a University of Saskatchewan Distinguished Professor. This honorary title is an award that celebrates exceptional achievement in research, scholarly, or artistic work by University of Saskatchewan faculty. Dr. Rosenberg is considered worthy of this prestigious accolade based on his dedicated and numerous contributions to children's health, particularly contributions to advancing the care and knowledge of children afflicted with rheumatic diseases. The award also reflects Dr. Rosenberg's commitment to promoting and facilitating transdisciplinary collaborations and his dedication to mentoring the next generations of care providers and scholars.

AWARDS, APPOINTMENTS, AND ACCOLADES

The CRAJ would like to recognize the contributions of its readers to the medical field and their local communities. To have any such awards, appointments, or accolades announced in an upcoming issue, please send recipient names, pertinent details, and a brief account of these honours to *JyotiP@sta.ca*. Picture submissions are greatly encouraged.