AWARDS, APPOINTMENTS, ACCOLADES



r. Claire Bombardier received the *Distinguished Clinician Scholar Award* from the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) at the 2016 annual meeting in November. The award is given to a rheumatologist who has made outstanding contributions in clinical medicine, clinical scholarship or education. Claire has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the areas of education, practice, research and policy. She has played a key role in mentoring women researchers who have become nationally and internationally recognized as leaders in their areas of expertise, including Sherine Gabriel, Gillian Hawker, Vivian Bykerk, Nancy Baxter, Dorcas Beaton, Rachelle Buchbinder, Aileen Davis, Jill Hayden, Andrea Furlan and Linda Li. Most recently, her work has focused on health system innovation to support rheumatologists, primary care providers and other advanced care clinicians.



t the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) 2016 meeting in Washington, the Lupus Foundation of America (LFA) awarded me the *Evelyn Hess Award* for Lupus Research. This award was established in 2005 and is given annually to a clinical or basic researcher whose body of work has significantly advanced understanding of the pathophysiology, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, or treatment of lupus. This award was created to recognize Dr. Hess' outstanding contributions to lupus research over the course of her long career. It is indeed a great honour to receive the *Evelyn Hess Award* from the Lupus Foundation of America. To be included among distinguished Lupus experts and to be acknowledged for doing something that I have enjoyed doing for the past 40 years is gratifying. I was particularly moved by the wonderful things said about me by the nominators for the award, David Isenberg and Ian Bruce.



r. Anna Oswald received the University of Alberta *Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching,* one of the university's most prestigious teaching awards. As one of only three awardees university-wide, she demonstrated a superior command of the content; an ability to instil vital interest in and enthusiasm for the subject; excellent planning and organization in course implementation; and the fostering of independent study, critical thinking and problem solving. She contributes to curriculum development and has served as a valuable resource for both students and colleagues. She promotes excellence in teaching by collaborating to generate a desire for continued learning. Her most substantial teaching activities included the complete redesign of the musculoskeletal pre-clerkship course and introduction of team-based learning to emphasize team learning, knowledge application and peer accountability.



Derived the terminate of the terminate of the consultant Medical Staff at Southlake Regional Health Centre since 1980, was honoured with the designation of *Master* by the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) during the 2016 ACR/Association of Rheumatology Health Professionals (ARHP) Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. Recognition as a Master is one of the highest honours that the ACR bestows on its distinguished members. Only 25 individuals received the designation, and Dr. Thorne was the only Canadian Master in 2016. "It's an honour to be recognized for my commitment to advancing the health of patients with rheumatic diseases," said Dr. Thorne "I am truly humbled to receive this designation and join the ranks of many distinguished rheumatologists." ACR Masters must be highly accomplished individuals and must be distinguished by the excellence and significance of his or her contributions to the science and art of rheumatology.

The CRAJ would also like to congratulate Dr. Kiem Oen and Dr. Alan Rosenberg for being designated American College of Rheumatology (ACR) Masters in 2015.